Board of Education Homepage

About the Board

  • The job of the Cumberland County Board of Education is to serve the community. One of the primary functions of the Board is to act on behalf of all of students.  It is the official governing body of the Cumberland County Schools, consisting of nine, locally-elected non-partisan members, six of whom are elected by district, and the remaining three are elected at-large. Each member serves a four-year, staggered term.

    Each Board member oversees one of the following committees: Auxiliary Services, Budget/Finance, Curriculum, Personnel, Policy/Student Assignment, Student Support Services, and Legislative. The public is invited to attend the various Board committee meetings, at which time the Board members receive information and review agenda items for full Board recommendation.

    Regularly scheduled Board meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Community members who wish to address the full Board are able to do so at the beginning of the regularly scheduled meeting by signing up to speak. No walk-up sign-ups will be allowed – citizens must be present to make comments during the Board meeting. Dates and times can be confirmed by calling 910-678-2300.

    The Board welcomes community input. You may contact any Board member in person or in writing, with your concerns or comments on matters related to the Cumberland County Schools or public education.

Contact Us

  • Mailing Address:

    P.O. Box 2357
    Fayetteville, NC 28302

    Physical Address:

    2465 Gillespie Street
    Fayetteville, NC 28306
    Phone: 910-678-2300