Next Step

A report on Board action Cumberland County Board of Education Regular Meeting **December 11, 2018**

New Board Leadership Embraced

Members of the Board elected Donna Vann as the chair and Alicia Chisolm as the vice chair of the Cumberland County Board of Education. Both will serve a one-year term. Special recognition for exemplary leadership along with a gavel plaque and framed certificate were presented by Chisolm to the outgoing chair, Carrie Sutton, and vice chair, Donna Vann, respectively.

Re-elected & Newly Elected Board Members Take the Oath of Office

Returning School Board members Judy Musgrave and Greg West along with newly elected Board member Charles McKellar took the oath of office, while their family members, friends and supporters watched. The oaths were given by the Honorable Edward Pone, a district court judge, and Dr. Jeanette Council, the chairperson of the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners.

Recognition of Ex-Officio Members

Student Government leaders Tavia Armstrong-Massey from Alger B. Wilkins High School and Michael Henry from Reid Ross Classical High School served as ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Administrative Recommendations

ELA Curriculum Specialist - Secondary

Secondary Education

Sara Teal

Board Recognitions

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support Services, introduced the following honorees to the Board to be recognized:

November's 2018 Amazing Acts of Character Award Recipient – Student Honoree Delphane Lewis from Gray's Creek Middle School was recognized for displaying 'acts of good character' above and

Board of Education

Donna Vann Chair District #4

Alicia Chisolm Vice-Chair District #1

Judy Musgrave At-Large

Charles McKellar At-Large

> Greg West At-Large

Porcha McMillan District #2

> **Carrie Sutton** District #3

Susan Williams District #5

> **Peggy Hall** District #6

Superintendent Dr. Marvin Connelly beyond expected behavior. Members of the Board extended personal congratulations to her.

NC Honors Chorus Students – The 10 following elementary, middle and high school students from the CCS were recognized for being selected to participate in the North Carolina Music Educators Association's (NCMEA) three Honors Choral Clinics and Concerts held recently: Edith Burgers from Vanstory Hills Elementary School, Bella Aleman from Eastover-Central Elementary School, Cole Mason from Eastover-Central Elementary School; Gabriel Gordon from Anne Chesnutt Middle School, Abby Hast from Gray's Creek Middle School, Georgia Ross from Gray's Creek Middle School, Selah Apollo from John Griffin Middle School, Haven Lucas from Mac Williams Middle School, Christopher Landry from Gray's Creek High School and Theodore Schwamm from Gray's Creek High School. Every year, talented choral students from across the state audition for the opportunity to sing in the Honors Chorus.

NC Honors Orchestra Students – Each year, the NCMEA selects outstanding orchestra students from across North Carolina to participate in their Honors Orchestra Clinic and Concert. The following local students were recognized by the Board for their participation in the NC Honors Orchestra: Erin Higgins from Pine Forest High School, Jonathan Piland from Cape Fear High School, and Nigel Goins and Brandon Haley from Jack Britt High School.

Teachers Completing the National Board Process – The following six CCS teachers were acknowledged for completing the rigorous National Board Certification process: Shawn Perry from Lucile Souders Elementary School, Sharron Brown from Manchester Elementary School, Brianne Chambers from Montclair Elementary School, Kayla Maynor from Gallberry Farm Elementary School, Loraine Leigh from Gray's Creek Middle School and Dorothy Woodfork from E.E. Smith High School. Each received a \$500 stipend for completing the process. Those who have achieved National Board Certification will be announced in the coming weeks.

Exemplar PBIS Schools – The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction recently recognized 19 Cumberland County schools for achieving Exemplar status as PBIS (Positive Behavior Intervention & Support) Schools. The following schools were recognized: Alderman Road Elementary School, Beaver Dam Elementary School, Brentwood Elementary School, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School, C. Wayne Collier Elementary School, College Lakes Elementary School, J. W. Coon Elementary School, Ferguson-Easley Elementary School, Gray's Creek Elementary School, Gray's Creek Middle School, Ireland Drive Middle School, Lillian Black Elementary School, Margaret Willis Elementary School, New Century International Elementary School, Releigh Road Elementary School and Westover High School. PBIS primarily focuses on improving a school's ability to teach and support positive behavior for all students which ultimately creates safer more effective schools.

Dr. Connelly acknowledged the School Board for recently receiving the Silver Bell Award for Whole-Board Training, which recognizes training excellence and commitment during the 2017-2018 school year. He also shared that four Board members received special awards for participating in a minimum of 30 hours of training during the 2017-2018 academic year: Board Chair Carrie Sutton (Award of Excellence, 101-200 Total Cumulative Hours); Board Member Alicia Chisolm (Award of Excellence, 301-400 Total Cumulative Hours); Board Member Judy Musgrave (Certificate of Advanced Achievement, 201-300 Total Cumulative Hours); and Board Member Porcha McMillan (Certificate of Merit, 31-100 Cumulative Hours). The awards were presented during the 49th annual North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA) Annual Conference last month.

-END-