Next Step

A report on Board action Cumberland County Board of Education Regular Meeting May 15, 2018

Recognition of Ex-Officio Members

Student Government leaders Lena Vann from Westover High School and Madison Culbreth from Seventy-First High School served as ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Approval Given to Supplemental Allocation Formula

The Board approved the supplemental staffing approach which will allow for additional teaching positions, above and beyond those based on enrollment projections, to be allocated to schools with high populations of students from low socio-economic backgrounds. Title I poverty data has been utilized to identify the 10 comprehensive schools with the highest percentage of economically disadvantaged students within the district. Those schools include the following: T.C. Berrien, Ferguson-Easley, Walker-Spivey, Westarea, Margaret Willis, Brentwood, Cumberland Road, Mary McArthur, and Elizabeth Cashwell elementary and Luther "Nick" Jeralds Middle. The one additional High Priority position allotted to each school may be utilized to lower teacher/student ratios (reduce class size if space permits) or to provide direct instruction via remediation to meet the needs of their student population. Schools will not be permitted to convert High Priority positions for non-teaching purposes or to supplant funds already encumbered for instructional purposes as designated by the School Improvement Team.

Student Code of Conduct Gets 'Thumbs Up'

After several changes and additions, the CCS' 2018-2019 Student Code of Conduct received unanimous approval from the Board. School administrators received input from principals, parents, and students to help update the document, which will be distributed to all CCS' students and their families at the beginning of the 2018-2019 school year. This year, several honor students from Ramsey Street High School were chosen to share their insight with administrators on the revisions to the Student Code of Conduct.

Board Recognitions

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support Services, introduced the following honorees to the Board to be recognized:

Board of Education

Carrie Sutton Chair

District #3

Donna Van Vice-Chair

Vice-Chair District #4

Judy Musgrave At-Large

Rudy Tatum At-Large

Greg West At-Large

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Porcha McMillan District #2

Susan
Williams
District #5

Peggy Hall District #6

Interim Superintendent Tim Kinlaw April's 2018 Amazing Acts of Character Award Recipients – Student Honorees Brooke Chandler from District 7 Elementary School; Asia Banks from Vanstory Hills Elementary School; Faith Wallace from Westover Middle School; and Anna Barbour, Kasey Harris, Olivia Raymond, and Sloan Sorrell from Terry Sanford High School were recognized for displaying 'acts of good character' above and beyond expected behavior. Members of the Board extended personal congratulations to each of the award recipients.

The Region 4 Elementary Battle of the Books Winner – Members of the Battle of the Books Team from Eastover-Central Elementary School were recognized for recently winning the Region 4 Elementary Battle of the Books title. This is the Team's second year in a row capturing the title. The following team members were acknowledged: Semma Awad, Xander Browne, Bryan Charles, Abby Cooke, Cole Mason, Pasco Palazzo, Brianna Reyes, and Maddox Terwilliger. Team Coach Sonya Register and Assistant Coaches Taylor Register and Lisa Lyons were also congratulated by the Board.

Fayetteville-Cumberland Human Relations Department and Commission's 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Recipients – Assistant City Manager Jay Reinstein and a member of the Fayetteville-Cumberland Human Relations Department and Commission presented the following CCS' seniors with \$1,000 MLK Scholarships: Raven Bailey, E.E. Smith High School; Zinzili Kelley, Douglas Byrd High School; Israel C. Barnes, E.E. Smith High School; Tyler Lambertson, Seventy-First High School; Sydney Harris, E.E. Smith High School; Madison Lapsley, Pine Forest High School; Kimbrea McDonald, Seventy-First High School; Myles Nooks, E.E. Smith High School; Jiawen He, Cross Creek Early College High School; and Nicholas Moment-Cunningham, Cross Creek Early College High School.