Frequently Asked Questions
FAQ’s – Questions Asked: Cumberland County Schools
Who needs Driver Education?
Anyone under the age of 18 who desires to obtain an NC Limited Learner Permit. By North Carolina State Law, students who are 18 years old or older are not required to take a driver education course. These students may apply for a learner permit or driver's license at any NC DMV office.
Students who are 18 years old or older may register for the 30 hours of classroom instruction, however, they will need to obtain an NC Limited Learner Permit before they can complete the 6 hours of the behind-the-wheel instruction
If I drop out or fail the driver education class, may I take it again?
If you have previously attended a driver education class and dropped out or failed, you are not eligible to enroll again with Cumberland County Schools. You must take driver education through a commercial driving school.
Do I have to wait until I am 18 to get my driver’s license?
No. If a student takes driver education at age 14½, applies for and receives a Limited Learner Permit at age 15, then he/she is eligible to apply for a Limited Provisional License at age 16.
How do I get a Driver Education Certificate - Form 452?
Upon completion of 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, you will be issued your Driver Education Certificate - Form 452 by your behind-the-wheel instructor.
When does my Driver Education Certificate – Form 452 expire?
Your Driver Education Certificate – Form 452 never expires. It is valid for life.
What is a Driver Eligibility Certificate (DEC)?
A Driver Eligibility Certificate (DEC) is a certificate certifying that the student has passed at least 70% of his/her courses and has not dropped out of school. The DEC is valid for 30 days ONLY. Do not request a DEC from your school if you are not going to apply for your Limited Learner Permit within 30 days.
Students who are 18 years old or older are not required to have a DEC in order to apply for a learner permit or a driver's license.
I took driver education in another county in North Carolina. Do I have to take the course again in Cumberland County?
Probably not. Contact the Driver Education Center at 910-678-2526 for further information.
I am under the age of 18, and I have a learner’s permit from another state. Will I still have to take a driver education course in Cumberland County before I get my NC Limited (Level 2) Provisional License?
You may. The criteria for completing a driver education course vary from state to state. You should contact the Driver Education Center at 910-678-2526 to see if the driver education course you took in your state meets the criteria as outlined by North Carolina law.
I have a driver's education certificate from another state. How do I get my certificate converted to a North Carolina Driver Education Certificate - Form 452?
Contact the Driver Education Center at 910-678-2526 and we will determine if your certificate can be converted.
I completed driver education in another state and have my learner’s permit from that state. Will North Carolina count the time I have had my learner’s permit from that state toward the one year requirement?
You must contact any one of the NC DMV offices for the answer to that question.