Multi-Year SWIFT Equity MTSS Research Project

  • Cumberland County Schools has been awarded a SWIFT grant to support and deepen our implementation of equity practices and the multi-tiered system of support. Three school districts across the nation and 70 schools have been selected to participate in this research study. Our district is one of those districts and has been granted funding for 22 schools to take part in Cohort 1 and 2. Cohort 1 began participation in the spring of 2019. Cohort 2 was slated to begin participation next year, 2020-2021. However, with the pandemic, the terms of the research study changed. Since 2019, a District Team of administrative leaders from Academic Services and Student Support Services have worked to design and implement a far-reaching, effective, and sustainable equity-based MTSS. Starting this year, 2021, all school principals and their school teams will receive training, and Cohorts 1 and 2 have been combined into one group and will receive coaching from SWIFT and UNCG coaches/mentors.

    The goal of this study is to enhance instructional leadership and support dynamic learning environments. Based on a randomized sampling, the twenty-two subject schools were selected to participate. All schools selected for this study were chosen based on established criteria set by SWIFT and CCS. The SWIFT Education team will provide equity training and equity coaching focused on MTSS (Multi-Tiered Support System) to your leadership team. (A Multi-Tiered Support System integrates academics, behavior, and social-emotional learning for all students.)

    The grant provides all participant schools:

    • SWIFT Fidelity of Implementation Tool or SWIFT-FIT
    • Training of the District Leadership Team
    • Training and coaching of the District Implementation Team
    • Training for school leaders and their school teams
    • Job-embedded coaching for the 22 cohort schools to assist schools leaders with the implementation of MTSS

    SWIFT Equity MTSS Cohorts I & II

    Cohort I 
    Tara Bratcher, Lloyd Auman Elementary
    Dr. Michele Cain, Cumberland Road Elementary
    Dawn Collins, Gallberry Farm Elementary
    Regina Blanding, Hope Mills Middle
    Anne McFadyen, Brentwood Elementary
    Katrina McKinnon, Gray's Creek Elementary
    Larry Parker, Walker-Spivey Elementary
    Stephanie Wall Powell, Montclair Elementary
    Billy Starks, Pine Forest Middle
    Corine Warren, Benjamin Martin Elementary
    Myron Williams, Seventy-First High 
    Cohort II 
    Tianna O'Brien, J.W. Coon Elementary
    Dr. Natasha Brown, Westover Middle
    Dr. Don Cahill, Bill Hefner Elementary
    Brady Davis, New Century International Elementary
    Margaret Goodwin, Warrenwood Elementary
    Gerald Hernandez, Jr., E.E. Miller Elementary
    Gemette McEachern, New Century International Middle
    Eric McLaurin, Ferguson-Easley Elementary
    Phyllis Jackson, South View High
    Kamal Watkins, Lillian Black Elementary
    Niesha Witherspoon, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary 

    Equity MTSS District Leadership Team

    Academic Services
    Dr. Stacey Wilson-Norman, Chief Academic Officer
    Jovan Denaut, Integrated Academic & Behavior Support Facilitator
    Dr. Mellotta Hill, Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Services
    Dr. Jane Fields, Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Services
    Melody Chalmers, Assistant Superintendent, District Transformation & Strategic Initiatives
    Dr. Theresa Perry, Director, Professional Development
    Carrie Childers, AIG Coordinator
    Aritia Smalls, AIG Specialist
    Deborah Wilkes, ESL Coordinator
    Priscilla Nance, Student Success Facilitator
    Student Support Services
    Dr. Mary Black, Associate Superintendent, Student Support Services
    Dr. Natasha Scott, Executive Director, Student Services
    Dr. Pamela Adams, Executive Director, Exceptional Children
    Ayanna Richards, Director, Exceptional Children
    Lisa Craver, Psychologist Coordinator
    Kristen Curran, Counseling Coordinator
    Antoreya Scott, Coordinator, PBIS

    Equity-Based MTSS District Implementation Team

    Academic Services
    Jovan Denaut, Integrated Academic & Behavior Support Facilitator
    Priscilla Nance, Student Success Facilitator
    Jennifer Lloyd, Curriculum Specialist, Elementary ELA
    Tiffany Eakins, Curriculum Specialist, Elementary ELA
    Sara Teal, Curriculum Specialist, Secondary ELA
    Lisa Suther Johnson, Curriculum Specialist, Elementary Math
    Shonette Simmons, Curriculum Specialist, Secondary Math
    Deborah Wilkes, ESL Coordinator
    Student Support Services
    Lisa Craver, Psychologist Coordinator
    Danya Williams, EC MTSS Liaison
    John A. McMillan, EC Program Coordinator

Get Connected

  • Equity, Inclusion & Excellence
    Educational Resource Center
    396 Elementary Dr.
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Phone: 910-678-2781

    Jovan Denaut
    Integrated Academic & Behavior Support Facilitator