Mathematics Curriculum

Contact Us

  • Academics
    2465 Gillespie Street
    Fayetteville, NC 28306
    Phone: 910-678-2407

    Dr. Mellotta B. Hill

    Chief Academic Officer

    Vernessa Johnson
    Executive Assistant

  • Math  For more than a decade, educators and researchers have understood the need for a more focused, more rigorous mathematics curriculum in U.S. public school systems in order to produce a generation of globally competitive individuals. To address that need, the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics were developed. These standards are internationally benchmarked and are based on a philosophy of teaching and learning mathematics that is consistent with the most current research, exemplary practices, and national standards. 

    Coupled with the mathematics curriculum are the eight Standards for Mathematical Practice. These standards describe ways in which students should engage with the subject matter as they grow in mathematical maturity and expertise throughout the elementary, middle, and high school years.

    The K-5 standards provide students with a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, and decimals. The standards stress not only procedural skill but also conceptual understanding to make sure that students are learning and absorbing the critical information they need to succeed at higher levels. The middle school standards provide a bridge from the elementary level to the high school level. The high school standards prepare students to think and reason mathematically, and they set a rigorous definition of college and career readiness. The high school standards emphasize mathematical modeling and the use of mathematics and statistics to analyze empirical situations, understand them better, and improve decisions.

    The Common Core State Standards for Mathematics are organized by grade level and by domain and can be accessed by clicking on the following links:
    K-5 Mathematics Curriculum
    6-12 Mathematics Curriculum
    Common Core Mathematics Standards by Domain (K-8)

    Major Work of the Grade for Mathematics

    Content Emphases by Cluster describes content emphases in the standards at the cluster level for each grade or course. These are provided because curriculum, instruction, and assessment at each grade must reflect the focus and emphasis of the standards. Not all of the content in a given grade or course is emphasized equally in the standards. Some clusters require greater emphasis than others based on the depth of the ideas, the time they take to master, and/or their importance to future mathematics or the demands of college and career readiness. An intense focus on the most critical material at each grade allows depth in learning, which is carried out through the Standards for Mathematical Practice. Assessments will be designed with a much greater proportion drawn from clusters designated as major and the remainder drawn from clusters designated as additional/supporting, with these items placing emphasis on the major work of the grade. To access documents for each grade level, click on the desired links below:

    First Grade
    Second Grade
    Third Grade
    Fourth Grade
    Fifth Grade
    Sixth Grade
    Seventh Grade
    Eighth Grade
    Math I
    Math II
    Math III
    Algebra IIGeometry